Government type
parliamentary democracy under a constitutional monarchy; a Commonwealth realm
name: Port Moresby
Geographic coordinates
9 27 S, 147 11 E
Time differenceUTC+10 (15 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
Time zone note
Papua New Guinea has two time zones, including Bougainville (UTC+11)
EtymologyNamed in 1873 by Captain John Moresby (1830-1922) in honor of his father, British Admiral Sir Fairfax Moresby (1786-1877)

Administrative divisions

20 provinces, 1 autonomous region*, and 1 district**; Bougainville*, Central, Chimbu, Eastern Highlands, East New Britain, East Sepik, Enga, Gulf, Hela, Jiwaka, Madang, Manus, Milne Bay, Morobe, National Capital**, New Ireland, Northern, Southern Highlands, Western, Western Highlands, West New Britain, West Sepik

16 September 1975 (from the Australia-administered UN trusteeship)
National holidayIndependence Day, 16 September (1975)
history: adopted 15 August 1975, effective at independence 16 September 1975


Proposed by the National Parliament; passage has prescribed majority vote requirements depending on the constitutional sections being amended – absolute majority, two-thirds majority, or three-fourths majority; amended many times, last in 2016

Legal system
Mixed legal system of English common law and customary law
International law organization participationHas not submitted an ICJ jurisdiction declaration; non-party state to the ICCt
Executive branchchief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952)

Represented by Governor General Grand Chief Sir Bob DADAE (since 28 February 2017)